ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Potassium Permanganate

Default Potassium Permanganate

Hi to u all discus freakz out there!

Im new to this thing PP but i got it!
    So i have been thinking to do a Stock Solution "sounds that the safest way to go"
    But the problem is that i have no scale that kan handle low whight as Mg
    just 1g 10g on n on!
    And the other problem is i have seen so many way too make this Stock Solution.
    So my question to u all people out there that have done this, please give me some light over this question!

How did u maked your Stock Solution?????

"Use of a Stock Solution
    An alternative method of measuring potassium permanganate is to mix a stock solution. A stock solution is a concentrated solution of chemical from which small amounts can be taken to treat tanks as needed. This is useful when either multiple tanks or multiple treatments are needed. An easy way to make up a stock solution for potassium permanganate is to purchase a one-gallon bottle of distilled water, weigh 285 grams of potassium permanganate, add it to the solution, and mix thoroughly. This stock solution will deliver a dose of 1 mg/L when delivered at a rate of one drop per gallon. Therefore, to achieve the desired concentration of 2 mg/L, the stock solution can be delivered at a rate of 2 drops per gallon. The stock solution should be stored in a cool, dark area and be replaced annually.

Any one that have used this Stock Solution???

"Weigh 285 grams of potassium permanganate,"

Sounds much from what i Have seen in other Stock Solution,
    Is this correct???

Regards dizkuz!

Registered Member Greg Richardson's Avatar

Default Re: Potassium Permanganate

You are correct. There is about 1000 ways that people have to use PP.
    I make up a solution in the way it is described below by Carrol.
    She did a fantastic job n this article!