Florida Discus     Discus Hans store

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: TDS ppm to microsiemens

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Havana
    Posts
    308
    iTrader
    0

    Default TDS ppm to microsiemens

    What is the correct conversion from tds-ppm (what hanna primo tds meter reads) to microsiemens?,I am a little confused about.

  2. #2
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    161
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: TDS ppm to microsiemens

    Quote Originally Posted by guille2007 View Post
    What is the correct conversion from tds-ppm to microsiemens?
    1 ppm TDS= 1.56 microS/cm.
    Hans

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Havana
    Posts
    308
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: TDS ppm to microsiemens

    Thanks Hans, then my conductivity is even higher than the value I supposed since 335ppm are 522.6 microS/cm, however my gH is below 6, so if not calcium and no magnesium, what is tds meter reading as dissolved salts?, and for breeding purpose what is more important, low gH or low tds or both need to be low?
    Last edited by guille2007; 08-28-2007 at 07:17 PM.

  4. #4
    Registered Member phidelt85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Choctaw, OK
    Posts
    1,358
    iTrader
    1 (100%)

    Default Re: TDS ppm to microsiemens

    TDS is indiscriminate of what it reads. It reads all dissolved ions in the water from sulfates, chlorides, sodium, etc.

  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Havana
    Posts
    308
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: TDS ppm to microsiemens

    Quote Originally Posted by phidelt85 View Post
    TDS is indiscriminate of what it reads. It reads all dissolved ions in the water from sulfates, chlorides, sodium, etc.
    I think the same because it is said that for breeding is needed low calcium and low magnesium and you read high tds reading caused by another kind of ions and or salts, does it affect breeding aswell?
    Last edited by guille2007; 08-28-2007 at 07:52 PM.

  6. #6
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    161
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: TDS ppm to microsiemens

    Quote Originally Posted by guille2007 View Post
    and for breeding purpose what is more important, low gH or low tds or both need to be low?
    Low conductivity and low kh seem to be crucial together with moderate low and stable pH . Of course low conductivity is impossible with high gh but lowering gh by replacing calcium and magnesium ions with sodium (due to zeolite action) is almost useless for breeding.
    In fact an excess of ANY matter dissolved in water can damage discus spawn, even if it doesn't increase conductivity. Discus fry is not only sensitive for ions, it is also sensitive for osmotic pressure.
    Hans

  7. #7
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Havana
    Posts
    308
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: TDS ppm to microsiemens

    Really replacing calcium and magnesium ions by sodium low gh but conductivity value keep almost the same as the tap water and even get it higher than tap water when adding muriatic to low ph.

  8. #8
    Registered Member phidelt85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Choctaw, OK
    Posts
    1,358
    iTrader
    1 (100%)

    Default Re: TDS ppm to microsiemens

    Quote Originally Posted by guille2007 View Post
    Really replacing calcium and magnesium ions by sodium low gh but conductivity value keep almost the same as the tap water and even get it higher than tap water when adding muriatic to low ph.

    You haven't really removed any ions from the water you've only substituted Na for Ca and Mg. Then by adding the HCl you've actually added more Chloride ions to the water. If you want to lower you TDS, you'll have to go with an RO or DI. If you already have a softener, by adding an RO behind it it will polish the water. Since the softener is removing the bulk of the hardness it will also preserve your RO membranes.

  9. #9
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Havana
    Posts
    308
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: TDS ppm to microsiemens

    Quote Originally Posted by phidelt85 View Post
    You haven't really removed any ions from the water you've only substituted Na for Ca and Mg. Then by adding the HCl you've actually added more Chloride ions to the water. If you want to lower you TDS, you'll have to go with an RO or DI. If you already have a softener, by adding an RO behind it it will polish the water. Since the softener is removing the bulk of the hardness it will also preserve your RO membranes.
    It seems the way to go, thanks

  10. #10
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,608
    iTrader
    1 (100%)

    Default Re: TDS ppm to microsiemens

    Any thing you add to your water will raise the TDS. Salt, meds, and as already mentioned soft water is not neccisarily low TDS. Don T.

  11. #11
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    161
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: TDS ppm to microsiemens

    Quote Originally Posted by Don Trinko View Post
    Any thing you add to your water will raise the TDS.
    I cannot agree with you. Some solid substances (for example so called "humic acids") can DECREASE conductivity after they are added to water, many others (like sugar) have no influence on conductivity. Of course if you can determine TDS by evaporating water to dryness and weighting dry solid residue you can't be deceived. but estimating TDS by conductivity measurement is useless in this case.
    Hans

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •