ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bristlenose pleco breeding

Default Bristlenose pleco breeding

Hi all,
    I have been breeding a pair of albino bristlenose now for a few months. I have a great system in place. The pair is in a 10 gal tank. They are quite happy and have spawned multiple times. When they do I leave the fry with them a week or two and then move the fry to a 75 gal grow out tank. This works great for me. But. its also a pita to move the pleco fry. I was thinking of relocating the pair to the 75 gal. It would be a heck of alot easier. The 75 gal is just for the bristlenose and has a few mystery snails an⁰d a bunch of female endler live bearers.

Do you think I am asking for trouble with the pair? Ive had males fight before and even barber other males but all the bristlenose are juveniles and will be sold long before adult.. Im also wondering if having all those juveniles there will turn the pair off from breeding.

Whats everyones thoughts here and experiences.

20240403_094039.jpg

20240403_094045.jpg
    Last edited by brewmaster15; 04-03-2024 at 09:57 AM.
    AquaticSuppliers.comFoods your Discus will Love!!!

>>>>>I am a science guy.. show me the science minus the BS

Al Sabetta
    Simplydiscus LLC Owner
    Aquaticsuppliers.com

I take Pics.. click here for my Flickr images

Real Name
    Brian

Default Re: Bristlenose pleco breeding

Can't help you with this one. I just tossed a few into a gravel bottom 46g bow front and a few months later I had about 250 of the little suckers. I do know that Jack T keeps all the fry in a floating container so they're easier to feed, collect and segregate. I don't know how he catches them in the first place.

He gave brought me some new additions last week, including some calico's, Green Dragons and Super Reds. Looking forward to growing them out...

bristlenose 7.jpg
    Last edited by brewmaster15; 04-03-2024 at 10:11 AM.