PDA

View Full Version : New Discus Momma, insight appreciated!

Tobrienne
04-27-2012, 06:54 PM
Hello everyone!

So I am new to the discus world but I have done a tonne of research so far on the discus. I have a breeder pair they are 4-4.5" and seem to be very affectionate with one another.

I have them, together, in a 20 gallon tank. The heater is on full blast and it's only 82 degrees F in there, however they seem to be quite happy.

I have been feeding them a cowheart/garlic/vitamin concoction that was passed on to me and they don't seem to be interested in it. I've seen them graze here and there and I understand discus are a slower eater than most. However.. my water is disgusting! It's tinted like a murky yellow which I believe to be caused by the beefheart and my living room stinks like scuggy water! I took my net this morning and took out all the excess food that was in there. However it doesn't appear to have changed anything. My pH is a regular 7.6 which, again, they don't seem to mind.

I have only had them for two days so I understand that they need regular water changes. I filled a 5 gallon jug of water and set it out to sit until tomorrow. I tested the pH as soon as it came out of the tap.. it is also 7.6 which is the same as my tank. I added "Prime" to the tank to purify. So I will do a 30% water change on a daily basis to help these two breed. I feed them twice daily, a peice of the beefheart, some tetracolour and I just bought some wardley tropical fish flakes..

They don't seem to go crazy over any of it.

I'm not even sure what I am asking.. just telling you all what I have done so far and any tips would be appreciated. I've read so much off this site.. all of it is based on opinion and what works for you. So far this seems to be working for me.. but I want them to eat something relatively normal (in my opinion) like the tropial fish flakes lol

-Tobrienne

warblad79
04-27-2012, 06:57 PM
Try freeze Dried Blackworms.

shoveltrash