PDA

View Full Version : Getting discus soon..

derek0762
07-24-2010, 05:40 PM
I've set up my 300litre juwel rio tank, at the moment it's currently cycling with 6 goldfish after I recieved some advice from the breeder I'm getting my discus from.

I'm new to the forum and looking for some advice.. I'm getting some Stendker discus from a local breeder; Bob Grainger in Edinburgh (Scotland), I've had lots of positive advice about getting discus from this guy but i just wondered if anyone has had stendker discus before and were they good quality?

The fish I'm getting will be between 3"-4", how many times a day should I feed them?

DiscusKev
07-24-2010, 06:33 PM
First, it is always a good idea to do a fishless cycle to ensure that the ammonia come from a clean source.

I have no experience with Stendker discus, I only keep Asian discus, but from looking at Hans discus (US Stendker distributor), the quality is fantastic!

It's hard to tell you since you didn't mention how many discus you plan to get, but generally 3-5 times daily would be good. Daily water changes of at least 50% would be beneficial too.

Just my opinion.

derek0762
07-25-2010, 03:47 AM
Ideally I would have liked to have done a fishless cycle after reading various threads about it, I spoke to Bob and he said he had always used goldfish to cycle his tanks and has had no problems.

150 litres of water seems far too much to be replacing every day.. Would 30% every 2 days be sufficient? I'm getting 6 btw. Tank is BB.

DerekFF
07-25-2010, 04:21 AM