PDA

View Full Version : What strain to pick

GT M4
09-20-2020, 03:59 PM
As title says I will not be getting my discus until November time as tank is still cycling I only want a single strain discus tank as I’m new at keeping discus I would like your help because I’m not to sure what they will look like when adults apart from looking at utube I’ve put a list below of what strain I would like from Mark Evenden site.....Would be helpful if people could vote on what they would have

Brilliant
Cobalt
Blue Diamond
Solid Turquoise
Blue snakeskins

seanyuki
09-20-2020, 04:17 PM
There are a lot of Stendker discus Youtube videos.

https://youtu.be/m2LTKnmqfQM

GT M4
09-20-2020, 04:24 PM
Great video mate but it’s not saying what strains they are I’m a novice at this...love the blues but what would you have

GT M4
09-20-2020, 04:26 PM
I found this and love the colour think it’s blue snakeskins but not to sure
https://youtu.be/ox78LWtHus4

Iminit
09-20-2020, 05:59 PM
Are you going one strain because you think that’s easier ? Here a pic of my flaken blue snakeskin128983

pastry
09-20-2020, 07:00 PM
Single strain tanks are SEXY in my book... but I'm not even restrained enough to choose one so I do very similar strains.

In your instance (and just my idea I'd throw out there), Brilliant, Cobalt, and Solid Turquoise would blend well. Or substitute cobalt for 1 or 2 striated turns.

For blue diamonds, I just love seeing them either with only other BDs OR half BDs and half some sort of yellow or clean fire red strain for a cool play on colors.

Personally not big on SS but I do love flaschens (kinda, sorta similar)

GT M4
09-21-2020, 07:05 PM
I just prefer single strain would love a picker mix of different colours but I know I would not be happy

Willie
09-26-2020, 08:51 PM