PDA

View Full Version : Would my 55 gallon tank support a pair of Discus, with the other fish I have?

PattersM
07-11-2013, 01:32 PM
Hi I'm new to the idea of keeping Discus but have had a reef tank for about four years (torn down due to power cut issues in my local area - couldn't stand keep loosing corals)

I'm currently setting up a 55 gallon for freshwater use and have two quarantene tanks populated with 6 Sterbei cats, 3 Bristlenose plecs, 11 penguins, two Rams (possibly a pair?) and 15 Rummynose tetras that have been happy for a month and are being kept in good water via two Fluval 306 filters.

Once they are all in the 55 gallon what room do i have left for Discus? I was thinking of trying to get a small pair and see how I got on with keeping them (after I have my back up electrical generator installed in the next few weeks)

If I can keep everything happy I have room to build an in-wall tanks of about 200 g size, so could get more discus in that.

Would an established pair bully a new set of smaller discus fish in a bigger tank? What is a territory size for a pair?

Also does any of my reef equipement help with keeping discus? I have a sump that i could switch to a refugium on a reverse daylight timer for plant but what use/plant would I use for nutrient export? Is there a freshwater equivalent to Chaeto or Calurpa algae ?

Thanks, Mike (Mattawan, MI)

DiscusLoverJeff
07-11-2013, 03:44 PM
Hi I'm new to the idea of keeping Discus but have had a reef tank for about four years (torn down due to power cut issues in my local area - couldn't stand keep loosing corals)

Welcome to Simply Discus!

I'm currently setting up a 55 gallon for freshwater use and have two quarantene tanks populated with 6 Sterbei cats, 3 Bristlenose plecs, 11 penguins, two Rams (possibly a pair?) and 15 Rummynose tetras that have been happy for a month and are being kept in good water via two Fluval 306 filters.